Skip to main content
Monday, January 30, 2023 | Home

From the President

Posted: Tuesday, October 20, 2020

2020-2021 Honorary Degree Committee, Call for Nominations

I am pleased to announce that the following faculty and staff members will serve on the 2020–2021 Honorary Degree Committee:

Chair: Deborah Silverman, Chair and Associate Professor, Communication Department

Aaron Daniel Annas, Director of the Television and Film Arts Program, Communication Department
Naila Ansari, Assistant Professor, Theater Department
Sarbani Banerjee, Professor, Computer Information Systems Department
William Benfanti, Associate Vice President for Government Relations, Institutional Advancement
Erin Habes, Lecturer, Fashion and Textile Technology Department
Chelsea Kettle, Admissions Adviser, Admissions Office
Patrick Ravines, Director and Associate Professor, Garman Art Conservation Department
Bhakti Sharma, Associate Professor, Art and Design Department

Crystal J. Rodriguez, chief of staff in the President’s Office, will provide staff support to the committee.

The Honorary Degree Committee is charged with identifying candidates for the State University of New York honorary doctorate, SUNY’s highest academic honor, and preparing nomination portfolios. Honorary degrees are awarded to recognize excellence that exemplifies the mission and purpose of the State University of New York in the following fields: public affairs, the sciences, humanities and the arts, scholarship and education, business and philanthropy, and social services.

Honorary degrees also can honor meritorious or outstanding service to the university, the state of New York, the United States, or humanity at large, or people whose lives serve as examples of the university’s aspirations for its students.

Please forward the names of suggested nominees for SUNY honorary doctorates, along with a brief rationale, to Crystal J. Rodriguez, Cleveland Hall 517, by Wednesday, October 28.